Wow! That Was Fast!

For a while now I’ve been wanting new motorcycle boots or shoes.  The soles of my trusty BMW Street Sneakers are now worn smooth and getting thin.  Don’t get me wrong, they were great shoes, were comfortable and have been followed by two newer versions.  They had a rubber shift pad on the left foot and hard armor for the ankles.  And like the name implies, they were like high top sneakers.  But they were lace up and with the concealed eyelets they could be difficult to lace up at times or tighten, but they sure were comfortable.

Well, yesterday I had the opportunity to order my new boots!  I got a pair of Vega Touring Boots from Competition Accessories in Rock Hill, SC.  The Vegas are taller “normal” boots with a gussetted zipper on each side and are also advertised to be waterproof.  I don’t think the waterproofing would actually be all that important as the Street Sneakers were not waterproof but my feet never got wet while riding.  Now here’s the really amazing part!  I placed my oder online with Competition Accessories on 02/28/12 at 10:45 am according to the emailed invoice and selected standard ground shipping.  FedEx delivered the boots on 02/29/12 at 9:49 am!  That’s right, from order time (not ship) to delivery, it was about 23 hours!  Even though the order travelled from around Charlotte, SC to north of Atlanta, GA I’m still impressed with the delivery.  No, I did not pay for next day or 2nd service.  I paid for FedEx ground with an expected delivery time of 5 days!  In the past, I’ve had items shipped by FedEx ground from places closer to home and they showed up in just what FedEx said they would; 5 days.

The new boots are snug but I think the next size up would’ve been too big.  I’ve been wearing them around the house all day and they have stretched and loosened like some of the reviewers have posted.  If I get 3 1/2 years of riding out of them like I did with the Street Sneakers, I’ll be even happier with them.

Old BMW Street Sneaker on the left and new Vega Touring Boot on the right.

Categories: Accessories | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

