Tire And Brakes

Well due to circumstances outside our control the tire installation had gotten delayed.  I had taken the wheel off the motorcycle so I could take it to the shop to get the tire installed.  I decided to check my rear brake pads while I was back there and found that I was in dire need of new brake pads.  Because my regular tire shop was still closed due to an emergency I just went ahead and ordered a new tire and brake pads from Motorcycle Superstore.  The damaged tire was a Metzeler ME 880 Marathon but I replaced it with a Bridgestone Battleax BT020.  Granted the Metzeler will normally give you more miles while the Bridgestone is considered to be a sportier tire and better on wet roads but the Metzeler is now about $90.00 more than the Bridgestone!  Yesterday I took the tire and wheel over to Ken’s Motorcycle Tires and had the wheel installed.  This morning, I put the wheel back on and installed the new brakes pads.  The Magic Carpet is ready to hit the road again!

The BMW K1200LT in unicycle mode.

Categories: Maintenance & Repair | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

