Can You Hear Me Now?

Well since Christmas I’ve been riding with earplugs.  I guess I want to preserve the hearing I have left along with reducing the effects of my tinnitus.  Actually, I’ve been using two different kinds of re-usable plugs, Etymotic ER20 and E.A.R. Do It Yourself Custom Molded Ear Plug.  I’m now thinking that I like the Etymotic plugs better.  They really muffle wind noise around the helmet and do just as they advertise and let “gas station” conversation be heard.  They are comfortable (at least for me) to wear.  I found no real need to raise the volume on my in-helmet intercom and the helmet doesn’t affect them.  I do like the E.A.R. plugs too and my problem may simply be the way I made them.  You need to knead two compounds together, then mold them into your ear and let it set up for about 10 minutes.  I think I may have kneaded until it started to harden too much before placing it in my ear.  The second ear went much smoother than the first one did.  Because they are custom molded they are really comfortable.  They also actually do supply more material than you’d need.  The optional screw-in neck cord is a big plus too.  Wind noise around the helmet seems louder with the E.A.R. plugs though and more bothersome.  Off motorcycle conversation is muffled quite a bit and I did need to raise the volume of the intercom too.

I’m keeping both sets handy but will probably use the Etymotic ones the most.  I did get the E.A.R. plugs at Earplug Superstore (I happened to use their links for both plugs as they sell both) and got the Etymotics from Aerostich.

Categories: Accessories | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Can You Hear Me Now?

  1. I’ve been thinking of doing the same for the same reason. Thanks for the inspiration. I need to do it…

    Like

  2. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist

    Didn’t realise you could get DIY moulded earplugs, might need to give them a try. I have been a long time user of disposable foam earplugs but I’m finding that the wind noise from my current helmet is still very tiring. Thanks for the info.

    Like

  3. Aerostich even sells “sampler bags” of both disposable and re-usable plugs so you can experiment. The DIY moldable plugs are not nearly as good as the custom ones, but for less than $20 (US) I think they do a great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

