Another Solo Trip, But A Different Way

As I’ve posted before, I don’t like solo trips, I really like having Donna sitting behind me. Last week I thought I was going to make a solo trip to come to Florida to see my Mom in hospice for leukemia. But things took a turn and we both ended up coming down a day early at night. Mom lost her battle with leukemia last Thursday night.

Yesterday I did ride down solo to come help my Dad out with a few things. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve made this trip by car or motorcycle. This time though a friend suggested a different route. I came all the way to just about Ocala, FL to take FL Highway 40 east across to Ormond Beach. This route took me past Silver Springs and through the Ocala National Forest. According to MapSource the route was two miles shorter and 12 minutes longer than the regular all interstate way (but I think it was much more than 12 minutes longer).  According to the GPS, the trip was 477 miles and took 7 hours and 35 minutes of time moving. The trip was longer with stops. I’ll write a more normal entry when I get back home. I figured I’d try making this entry with the WordPress for Windows Phone app.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

Categories: Daytona, Trips | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Another Solo Trip, But A Different Way

  1. Sorry to hear of your loss Chris.
    I am replying with my blackberry. Currently waiting for my flight home for R&R.

    Like

  2. My Camel

    it will take awhile to “normalize”. just let it happen at your own pace, Chris. Carol’s and my thoughts are with you. please be safe. We’ll talk in a couple of week.

    Kind regards

    My Camel

    Like

  3. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist

    My condolences on your loss Chris. My thoughts are with you both.

    Like

  4. Thank you all for your thoughts. Dad has a “Life Goes On” attitude. Mom is no longer suffering and we were all able to say goodbye.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

