No Longer Grounded!

That’s right, the Magic Carpet got it’s new front tire today!

I had intended on using Ken’s Motorcycle Tires in Woodstock, GA but while they were closed on Monday, I checked some of the big online retailers and motorcycle shops.  For a front Metzeler ME880 Marathon 120/70/B17 tire with a 58V rating for the BMW K1200LT I got prices ranging from $151.88 to $168.99 (prices in U.S. Dollars) and the low one added a $5 tire fee to that $151.88 price.  I checked online to get an idea of what I’d be charged at Ken’s as his prices are usually just a few dollars above the online dealers but if I buy the tire somewhere else and bring it to him for mounting he charges more than if the tire were purchased there.  So Wednesday I was shocked when I got a price of $144 from Ken’s for the tire!  I ordered one up (he usually doesn’t stock the K1200LT tires).

This afternoon (Friday) Debby called from Ken’s to tell me my tire was in and to set up an appointment to have it mounted.  Ken does installs on an appointment basis.  “Can you come by at 3:30 this afternoon?”  WOW!  You bet I can!  When I got there, I found the price of the tire was different.  It was $143 instead of $144!  Of course there was the mounting fee and the associated fees and taxes.  My appointment was for 3:30 and by 3:55 I had my earplugs in and helmet on preparing to head for home!

It’s Ken’s 20th anniversary of being in business and he’s charging a flat $20 over cost on all tires to celebrate and thank customers.  Thank you Ken!

And for the curious and Facebook oriented, Ken’s also has a Facebook page too.

Categories: Maintenance & Repair | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

