A Review Of The River Road Laughlin Jacket

I’ve received a Laughlin jacket made by River Road from Motorcycle House in order to write a review of the jacket and Motorcycle House.

To be honest, I picked the Laughlin because it was a fabric jacket and was not leather and was available in a color other than black.  Many of the jackets were nearly identical to a name brand jacket that I already had or were black leather.  I was pleasantly surprised when this jacket arrived.  The jacket is a nice brown color and had the appearance of Carhartt jacket.  When I tried it on Donna even asked “Are you sure that’s a motorcycle jacket?”  She commented that from a distance the jacket even looked like it was suede.  Now on to the review.

I ordered the jacket in an XL and the jacket is true to size and maybe even a little larger as it is not snug and has a looser fit but can be adjusted somewhat by the tab at the waist.  It is a waist length jacket.  It is a polyester/nylon blend jacket that has the appearance of cotton or canvas.  It definitely does not have the nylon or carbolex look.  The Laughlin has reflective piping on the front and the back.  There are a total of NINE pockets on this jacket!  There are 2 snap pockets on the chest, the 2 zipper chest vents are also pockets, 2 zippered handwarmer style pockets, on the inside of the jacket there is a zippered map style pocket and the liner has a cell phone style pocket and large Velcro pocket.  If you remove the insulated liner, the cell phone pocket and Velcro pocket are also on the mesh lining of the jacket itself.  The waist can be tightened by tabs with snaps on them.  The sleeves zip to the wrist and can also be cinched tighter by snaps.  The collar can be snapped down so that it does not flap in the wind, but can also be zipped all they way to cover your neck and keep it warm.  I rode about 100 miles wearing the jacket yesterday.  It was 46º F and sunny when I started.  I had a long-sleeved t-shirt on and was quite comfortable.  Although I could feel some cold air seeping in at the waist I merely tightened the snaps when I stopped to meet my riding partner for the day.  I also had the neck zipped all the way up covering my neck and it was soft and comfortable and more importantly did not interfere with my helmet.  Throughout the morning and into the afternoon I was very comfortable.  But as normal, if it were to be colder I would’ve been wearing more than a long sleeve t-shirt.  While we crested some mountains in north Georgia the temperature dipped back to 45º.  As the afternoon warmed up into the mid 60’s I stopped to remove the liner.  I also opened up the vents and felt good air flow around my torso using the front should vents and the rear exhaust vents.  This is an armored motorcycle jacket having CE Approved armor in the elbows and shoulders and a foam protection pad for the back.  All of the armor is removable.  The armor is not noticeable perhaps making this jacket appeal to even a broader spectrum of riders.  I rode about 100 miles with the jacket yesterday.  This jacket is so comfortable that it will quite likely be my “go to” jacket next winter for casual wear.  I really like this jacket a lot if you can’t tell.

You’ll see my review of Motorcycle House along with the jacket’s pros and cons below the pictures of the jacket and the video.  You have to review the retailer too don’t you?  Especially when that’s what they want!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Jacket Pros:

  • Warm and comfortable in cooler temperatures.  With liner removed and vents opened jacket moves air around body.
  • Collar will snap down or zip up to cover neck.
  • When off the motorcycle it does not look like a motorcycle jacket.
  • It has a lot of pockets.
  • Cell phone pocket will even accommodate a smart phone in an Otterbox case.
  • True to size fitting.
  • CE Approved armor in elbows and shoulders with foam padding for the spine.
  • The armor is not highly visible.
  • Reflective piping.
  • Water repellent.

Jacket Cons:

  • Back vents can be hard to reach while wearing jacket.

Motorcycle House

It was a bit odd when the marketing representative from Motorcycle House contacted me about this.  They supplied the choices to pick from after we started firming things up.  Most were jackets of the “cruiser” variety or something I already had.  I then selected the River Road Laughlin.  I’ll admit there were some bumps in the road that made me wonder things.  It was took over a week to ship and they said it was due to weather.  I then realized the area had an earthquake about 2 days after they said they’d ship.  They are located near San Bernardino, CA and the jacket was sent to them from a warehouse in Illinois.  But to their credit, they stayed in near constant contact through email.  Once they shipped from California it made it here in under 4 full business days (shipped late on Wednesday and arrived on a Monday).  They also provided me tracking numbers from the warehouse to them and then from them to me.  The jacket did arrive a day earlier than UPS had estimated.  When you go to the web site you’ll often quickly get a chat window from customer service asking if they can help you.  If you click on the chat link for them, they quickly respond.  I did notice that they nearly always had their own brand of article in stock but currently (as this can change) nearly all Tourmaster or Cortech items will show as out of stock.  They did deliver to me as a demo within what I would consider a reasonable time.  I was always able to get in touch with someone, even when being anonymous using their support link while browsing.  I’d give them a chance if you’re looking for motorcycle gear or even saddlebags.  Yes they even sell saddle bags!  They made me wonder at first but I can be cynical, but in reality they came through as promised.  Motorcycle House is just trying to get their name out there and spread around.  They’re at motorcyclehouse.com if you want to take a look.

Categories: Accessories, Reviews | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A Review Of The River Road Laughlin Jacket

  1. That looks like a jacket that one could wear inside a restaurant without people staring at you.

    Like

    • Phil or Howard, in fact when I got it and tried it on Donna said “Are you sure that’s a motorcycle jacket?” I’ve now ridden in 45 degree temps, 80 degree temps and rain. So far so good. My hi-vis vest will fit right over it too.

      Like

  2. An update to the review. I’ve worn the jacket in temperatures that were in the mid 70’s and been quite comfortable. On that same ride it rained for a while and water beaded up on the jacket and it did protect me from the rain and did not get wet inside. Part of the rain was a heavy rain. The other day I rode when it was 80-82 degrees. When stopped in traffic it got warm and my arms got warm, but then that can happen even with a mesh jacket. But, as soon as I started moving I felt air moving up my loosened sleeve cuffs and through the vents, cooling me.

    Like

  3. toomuchtina

    That’s a good looking jacket! Most of the time I love wearing leather, but from time to time, it gets heavy. I’m not in love with my mesh jacket, but I wear it in the hot temps.
    I like your video too! Very helpful!
    Smooches,
    Sash
    Sash – The Rude Biker Chick

    Like

    • Thanks Sash! Sorry it took so long to respond. I have a hi-vis mesh jacket also. But this River Road jacket doesn’t scream out “Motorcyclist!” when worn off the motorcycle.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

