Old And Leaking

Our BMW K1200LT is a 2oo2 model.  She was built to last.  Two years ago we had a leaking front brake line that I replaced and then bled the brake system.  A while back I wrote that it looked like there was another brake line leaking, this time the rear brake near the brake pedal.  Today I started looking for the culprit and it is indeed the rear brake line near the master cylinder.  Once I had removed the body panel so I could see better, I was able to push on the pedal and then get some brake fluid to collect at the ferrule where the hose goes into the master cylinder.  That’s some leak.  The brake reservoir was also sitting right on the minimum line too.  No wonder I got a flashing brake warning light.  So now I know what part I need to go to the BMW dealer and order and then replace.  Then it’s time to flush the brakes again.  At least I noticed it at home and not out on the road somewhere.  I’d rather not have to check out the BMWMOA roadside assistance towing.

Categories: Maintenance & Repair | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Old And Leaking

  1. Michael Hammel

    I’m telling ya ol buddy put spieglers on and ur troubles go bye bye. Nary an issue on my 02 since! You’ll be glad you did. If u want my help you’ll get me doin it while you tell me what to do but I’ll be glad to help!!

    Like

    • I’m with on that Mike. The Speigler kit is 6 lines. I now know the 2 rears are easy to get too. The front left and right are easy. I imagine the third is also up front and high somewhere. The hardest part is still the brake flush.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

