A Ride On The First Day Of The Year

Yesterday I wrote the last post of 2014 and today is the first post of 2015.  We started the year off with a ride.  It was a long ride but it was still a ride.  It was a cool overcast day with temperatures just above 50° F but it was supposed to be sunny.  My Blue Knights Chapter holds and annual meeting on New Years Day and that was our destination.  It was also Donna’s first ride with Ilium Works passenger floorboards on the R1200RT.  Before we were even out of the neighborhood she was saying how much more she liked them over the foot pegs.  As we rode I could tell she was moving her feet more.  It’s funny but on Christmas morning I took her into the garage to show her “one more present Santa left” and it was the floorboards already on the motorcycle.  She actually jumped up a little saying “Oh boy, I love them!”  How many wives get excited over a motorcycle accessory even when it is for them?

IMG_20150101_131026

Out for a ride on the first day of 2015.

The meeting we were headed to was a lunch meeting at an Irish Pub.  I had the lunch portion of the “Bangers and Mash”.  A surprise was when I was presented a plaque for being the most active member in 2014.  It wasn’t something I was expecting at all!  This was my first meeting as a returning Vice President of the Chapter after taking a term off.  I won’t be eligible for the plaque in 2015 because I’ll be a club officer.  It was my task to record the ending  odometer readings of our participants in the 2014 Mileage Contest.  I can say this even thought the results haven’t been officially announced but I didn’t win.  But for 2015 I’ll be eligible to participate in the mileage contest even as a club officer.

Until next time ride safe!

Categories: Accessories, Rides | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Ride On The First Day Of The Year

  1. Congrats on your award! I really wanted to ride on the first day of the year, but with temps under 20F I didn’t think it would be a good idea, haha. Wishing you all the best in 2015!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

